Old DK

I took these pictures in a trip to the beautiful Frilandsmuseet, or National Open Air Museum, 20 mins by train from Copenhagen.

Spread across 86 acres of land today the museum houses more than 50 farms, mills and houses from the period 1650-1950. Virtually every region in Denmark and the Faeroe Islands as well as the former Danish provinces of southern Sweden and northern Germany are represented.

I love the colors of this old farms. And I wish I had a house with grass and all sorts of flowers growing on the roof, just like these.

Somebody really likes to live at the Frilandsmuseet.

There was even a danish dance party in the fields. I love the outfits, my favourite accessory is the men’s red hat! Wow! I’ll knit one for Andreas, as soon as I learn how to knit.

The houses and farms interior decor also reflected the authentic Danish style back in the days. All the furniture, utensils, fabric, paintings were authentic pieces from the past. Needless to say there is a lot of amazing craft work to be seen.

I particularly liked this fabric piece, I think from the 19th century. I want it!!!

They appeared to be a lot into dog art back in the days. A lot of dog statues too.

A detail I really liked was the use of cut out books and newspaper pages to make nice decorations for the kitchen and the pantry.

And the little cabinet-beds, they seemed to present in most farms. I think I like them, they give me an idea of slightly claustrophobic coziness, but I bet it was the best option to endure the cold in the winter (or in September, for that matter…).

Your comment here ✎

