Update on the novel of the year

I’ve started this intensive novel writing program called NaNoWriMo. I talked about it here. It’s CRAZY. Or maybe I’m crazy and I didn’t expect this to be so challenging. I wrote only 5000 of the 50,000 words I’m supposed to write before the end of November 30th, but I’m positive. It’s going pretty well, definitely the best way to kill your inner censor…no time to self correct or anything like that.

November is quite the literature month…it’s also the Reader’s festival in CPH, or København Laeser (Copenhagen Reads) right now…

And on Friday the Public Library was giving books for free by the metro station. New books! I got 3.

The lady at the booth told me they’re going to be good for my Danish. One of the books is titled: Jesus doesn’t like pig. Doesn’t it have an amazing cover?! I want a cover like this for my novel! And the subtitle reads: Cultural critique with piglets

The books are written by a Norwegian author, Tor Åge Bringsværd. Wikipedia says he’s one of the first Norwegian sci-fi writers and “regards himself as an anarchist, which is clearly reflected in some of his works. He is also known for his distinctive style of writing, for example for his seemingly random jumps to narratives or anecdotes with no clear relationship to the main story.”

Your comment here ✎

