johnny

Today was a sad day: my dog Johnny had to be put down…He was old and sick, could move his back legs only with great difficulties, and his health worsened very quickly in the last period.

This photo is from last summer, in Italy. I adopted Johnny from the pound some 14 years ago, when I was 17-18 years old. Since then we were inseparable, also because he had anxiety issues at the very beginning. He used to sleep on my bed at night, for the whole first year I had him!

When I moved to Denmark in 2007, my mom took care of him in Italy. I missed my dog a lot when I moved here, and for that reason I started volunteering at the dog shelter when we lived in Valby.

I like to think Johnny had a very happy life, with great food, lots of hikes, many cat-friends (my mom has 4, you can see one in the photo). Now he rests under an olive tree in my grandma’s backyard, and we will all miss him.

2 thoughts on “johnny

  1. Ohh, det er jeg ked af at høre. Den ser satme sød ud på det billede. Men det er altid for det bedste når man afliver en hund der er syg.

    Håber i får en ny på et tidspunkt (som ikke spiser ledninger ;)

    Kh Anders

Your comment here ✎

