Macrobiotic Cookies

Last week I made these macrobiotic/vegan cookies from the book Mayumi’s Kitchen. They are really good despite being wheat-free, butter & eggs-free…they don’t even have sugar, because they are sweetened with maple syrup.  So I decided to post the recipe I hope you enjoy it! I will definitely make them again and again.

Dry Ingredients:

1 and 1/4 cups (125 g) almond meal or finely ground almond
1 cup (90g) oat flour, or rolled oats run through a blender until fine
1 cup (150 g) spelt flour
dash sea salt

Wet Ingredients:

1/2 cup (120 ml) almond oil (I used avocado oil, and it was great, but if you can’t find almond oil or avocado oil you could use sunflower oil or rice oil)
1/2 cup (120 ml) maple syrup
1/4 tsp almond extract (I didn’t use it and it was fine)

Filling:

Sugar-free rasberry jam

How to:

Preheat oven to 350°F (180°C) – I actually thought this was a little too hot, you may want to turn it down a bit…

Place all Dry Ingredients in one bowl and all Wet Ingredients in another. Mix well separately, then add Wet Ingredients to Dry Ingredients and mix just enough to blend.

Use a teaspoon to make 24 even-shaped balls. Place on a cookie sheet lined with natural parchment paper. Make an indentation in each ball with your index finger and place a generous amount of jam in each hole. Bake for 15 minutes, or until done.

Note: the photo template above is from Pugly Pixel, I have made a collage with my picture following this really nice tutorial on youtube. I’ve just upgraded to Picnik Premium and I’m really happy with it – my Photoshop skills are really limited, so Picnik is great!

Your comment here ✎

