Back to sewing

Pillowcase sewn with Stoff og Stil fabric

I am back to using the sewing machine, it has been a couple of years! First I made a long overdue pillow case (see above) with some patterned fabric from Stoff og Stil.

I used scraps from that project to sew some scrunchies. I used 10×40 cm strips of fabric and 17cm elastic inside – and sealed the scrunchie with a ladder stitch.

Scrunchie made with leftover fabric from the pillowcase
I made these with some fat quarters I have saved in my stash for too long!

After this it was time for leggins! I got a really nice free leggins pattern for kids on the lovely website Made for Mermaids (here you can see all their freebies). I printed all the PDF pieces, cut the fabric and then the nightmare began! I have basically being sewing with knit fabric with 1) the wrong needle, 2) the wrong stitch and 3) the wrong thread…But I have just found this wonderful reference which should help me from now on.

And I have been binge-listening to so many episodes of the podcast Love to Sew, by two Canadian sewists (one owns a indie pattern company and the other a fabric shop). I love the cheerful and soothing voices of the hosts and the great variety in topics covered – from sewing techniques, deep dives on fabric types, interviews with activists, business owners and other folks in the growing indie sewing community. Highly recommended.

I have also just ordered two books from Tilly and the Buttons – do you remember her from the British sewing reality show the Great British Sewing Bee? A great show from the BBC, by the way – if you like sewing you should definitely watch it!

That’s all for now. I will report back once the leggins are done…

Your comment here ✎